Science: My Passion

I’ve always seen science as a wonderful subject. Science is the key that will unlock all possibilities of the future, be  it concerning the exploration of the world’s away from Earth, or the microscopic world beneath that scraping layer of the world that we can see with our naked eyes. When used in the right way, the effects of science are immeasurable. We can meet different aliens, find a new species of animals, and most important of all, find a way to save our Earth’s natural resources and still have humans meet their needs. Our everyday questions  can be answered by science. These are the benefits of science.

 

However, we must admit that, like anything else, science used in the wrong way can not only be far from beneficial, but can also prove to be disastrous for us human beings.The possibilities of science are best illustrated in science fiction. A famous work of such, by Aldous Huxley, is Brave New World. Brave New World is a story about a society where people are manufactured in mass-production factories rather than being born. Here in order to have “social stability”, everyone is oppressed and controlled. People are kept away from following and striving to achieve their goals. The result is that humans are now having no purpose in life.

 

As different as this futuristic story is from real life, history has already proved some of the possible problems. A Brazilian scientist was working on an experiment on bees. The experiment didn’t work out right, and the his mutated bees went into the outside world. Today, these bees are known as killer bees. I find that science’s benefits weigh more than its problems, yet I do think that we should be aware of some dangers and after-effects of our experiments.

Road to Haleakalā SummitCreative Commons License Eric Tessmer via Compfight

2 Comments

on “Science: My Passion
2 Comments on “Science: My Passion
  1. Hi!
    I love every area is science, but my favorite would be the human anatomy, especially since I want to be a doctor. Even though anatomy is my favorite, I would say its also the area I need to work the most on!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *